Happy Monday! As promised today I have my step-by-step tutorial on how I created my pinata Halloween costume that I wore this year. About a week or two before Halloween I spent hours on Pinterest trying to find an idea for a costume. Being the crafter that I am I really wanted to make my costume instead of buying it. So when I came across a picture of a cute pinata dress I was determined to figure out how to make my own version of the costume. Here is how I made this year's Halloween costume creation...

Here is what you will need:
  • 1 dress or slip (I bought mine from the local Goodwill store for $4)
  • 6 to 8 rolls of streamers (I bought all of mine for $1 at the Dollar Store)
  • hot glue gun & glue sticks
  • scissors
  • large piece of cardboard
Instructions:
1. Before I began my project I had to hem the dress to the length that I wanted the dress to be. I used no-sew hemming tape and an iron and had my dress ready to go in about 5-10 minutes.
2. Once I had my dress at the correct length I cut my streamers so that each piece would wrap all the way around the dress one time each. To prevent the streamers from ripping I didn't cut the slits in each streamer piece until I was ready to glue it onto the dress.
3. When you are ready to glue on your first streamer take a piece of cardboard and stretch the dress over it. This will prevent the dress from sticking to itself on the inside. 
4. Starting from the bottom of the dress and working up, glue your strips of streamers onto the dress using the hot glue gun. In no organized order I glued two strips of each color onto the dress at a time. It was just an added perk that the dress I found was striped and provided excellent guidelines.
5. To help prevent an visible seam I started and ended each streamer in the middle on the back. 
6. When I got up to the arms and dress collar I glued on the streamers like normal and then folded over any extras and glued it to the inside of the dress.
7. As a final touch I added a pinata tail by cutting 1 long strip of each color, tied them together and then glued it to the back of the dress.
To finish the look I wore bright colored jewelry, carried a pinata stick and had a purse filled with candy to hand out at the party. This was such a fun costume to wear! Everyone I saw that night loved my costume and could not believe that I had made it. (Handing out candy also helped a little too!) My only worry with this costume was that all the streamers were going to fall off after once use, so it was a great surprise when I got home that night and the costume was still in great shape.   
What did you dress up as for Halloween? Did you try a DIY idea this year like I did?

xoxo
Megan

You might also like...

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.