Last week the girl's and I decided that it had been way to long since we had one of our girl's night dinners. With all our schedules finally settling down a bit we finally were able to set a date for our next outing. It just so happened that this month featured the semi-annual Restaurant Week event in Charlottesville, so we decided to change it up a little and instead of cooking in we decided to opt for a night out on the town.

In case you missed my post about Restaurant Week that I shared with you all this past winter here is a brief synopsis of what it is. Twice a year local restaurants come together and offer three-course fixed menus at 1 of 3 price points with $1 of every meal going towards a local charity. This time all the money raised was going to the Boys & Girls Clubs of Central Virginia. The best part of Restaurant Week? This is always a great time to try out some of the "pricier" restaurants in town as these fixed menus always offer their same great food at a cheaper price.

For those of you who have been following along you might know by now this group is one that loves food so this was one event we were all excited to take part in. After scanning through the menus it was decided that we wanted to try out Blue Light Grill since none of us had been there before and their menu sounded delicious. Here are some pictures of what I got to enjoy during our dinner last week.

There were three appetizers that sounded delicious to all of us. So we decided to each or one with a double of the goat cheese & lump crab hushpuppies with pimento cheese, which is what I ordered. I am now on the hunt for a similar recipe as they were delicious.
For the main meal I could not wait to try the seared scallops with watermelon two ways in a white balsamic reduction. I wasn’t lying when I said I was a sucker for summer fruits! It doesn’t seem like a lot but I still took home half of this as I was trying to save room for dessert.
And for dessert I ordered the cherry empanada with brown sugar gelato. I do not know how I managed to make it to the dessert part of dinner but somehow managed to enjoy every bite of this delicious dessert.
We all had an amazing time, left filled to the brim with amazing food as well as leftovers to enjoy later. I cannot wait until the next time Restaurant Week comes around! Does your city host a similar type of event where you live?

xoxo
Megan

You might also like…


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.