When it comes to Thanksgiving I bet the first thing that pops into your mind is the food. From the turkey to the desserts there are an endless number of Thanksgiving dishes one could have at their table. I think one year when my family hosted Thanksgiving we even had 7 different pie options for dessert! Today’s post is for all those who are still trying to figure out what to cook or might need a good side dish idea for this year’s feast. Here are my top 10 favorite Thanksgiving dishes.

1. Cranberry Sauce. You can make this from scratch or buy it in the can and serve. I just love the color that this dish adds to our table. This recipe from The Pioneer Woman has gotten great reviews! 
2. Stuffing. This is one thing that you can make so many different ways but my favorite is the Pepperidge Farm traditional stuffing with just the bread crumbs and celery. This is the one leftover that I cannot wait to have! Just take the Pepperidge Farm stuffing, cook according to the recipe on the bag and then add your favorite veggies.
3. Pie. My favorite Thanksgiving treat is pumpkin pie. I think each person in my house has a different favorite so we always have multiple choices when it comes to Thanksgiving dessert pies. The pumpkin pie recipe that I always use is the one on the side of the Libby’s Pumpkin can.
4. Rolls. You need something to clean your plate with right? My mom makes some of the best yeast rolls during the holidays and these never last more than a day in our house post Thanksgiving. If you don’t have time to make yeast rolls from scratch Sister Schubert’s Parker House Style Rolls come in a close second.
5. Salad. To add a slightly healthy element to the Thanksgiving feast a salad is always a great idea. Add some dried cranberries, walnuts and sliced apples for a side salad treat. Try this fall salad from Martha Stewart Living.
6. Green Beans. Some people like theirs in a casserole while others like them steamed. Just don’t forget to add the garnish! Try this recipe from Whole Foods to fix your green beans this year.
7. Potatoes. We keep rotating in our house what kind of potatoes we have so no matter the variety, you can always find some on our table. My favorite is sweet potatoes with mini marshmallows on top. Try this recipe from Cooks.com out this year.
8. Acorn Squash. Fall is the perfect time of year for squash and my favorite way to eat acorn squash is to bake them in the oven until soft and then serve them with butter and brown sugar. Yum! You can’t get any better than this Martha Stewart recipe
9. Gravy. Making gravy is something I learned to do a long time ago and is so easy to make from the turkey drippings. And of course this side goes with everything you serve at Thanksgiving, well maybe not the desserts. You can’t go wrong with this turkey gravy recipe from Southern Living
10. Turkey. No matter if you deep fry it, bake it or stuff it with dressing you can’t have Thanksgiving without the turkey. Last year I had to cook the turkey and had no idea what I was doing, but it still came out delicious! I used Whole Foods cooking instructions last year. 
There are so many options to choose from. Just making my list of ten favorites had me think about so many other holiday food favorites that I love. What are you fixing for Thanksgiving this year? Share your favorite recipe in the comments section below! Happy Thanksgiving!!!

xoxo
Megan

You might also like…
Thanksgiving Treats
Thanksgiving Cornucopia Treats
Fall Party Mix

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.