Growing up in my house during the holidays always included a lot of cooking, baking and holiday treat making. One holiday treat item my mom taught me to make was holiday peppermint bark. This was something that was easy to make and all my friends loved getting a bag of it during the holidays. Last year I was looking through the December Martha Stewart magazine and saw that there was an article on the bark that I have grown up making. However, this article didn’t just have the traditional peppermint bark that I was used to making. It also had so many new varieties that sounded amazing like s’mores, cookies-n-cream, trail mix and so many more! They were all delicious!!

So for today’s holiday foodie post I have a few of my favorite bark recipes for you to try at home. To make holiday bark you need baking chocolate, a baking sheet, a glass mixing bowl and your favorite bark toppings.

Step 1: Melt the chocolate in a mixing bowl in 45-60 second increment in the microwave, stirring in between, until melted.   –or-    Melt the chocolate in a double broiler on the stove.

Step 2: Once melted, pour the chocolate onto the baking pan, smoothing the chocolate out to create an even coat over the entire pan.

Step 3: While the chocolate is still warm, sprinkle your bark toppings on top of the chocolate. Tap the pan onto the counter a few times to set the toppings into the chocolate.

Step 4: Put the pan into the freezer for the bark to harden.

Step 5: Once hardened, take the bark out and break into pieces. Enjoy!

Some of my favorite bark combinations are:
     - White Chocolate with Red and Green Peppermint
     - Milk Chocolate with Graham Crackers and Mini Marshmallows
     - Milk Chocolate with Oreo Crumbles

Holiday bark candy is always a hit for any type of gathering. Give some as gifts or put some out at your holiday party. Which one are you going to try? Have a wonderful weekend!!

xoxo
Megan


You might also like…
11/30/2012 06:56:34 am

Maybe white chocolate and Oreo crumbles. Or white chocolate and broken up pieces of salted skinny pretzel sticks.

Reply
12/3/2012 03:24:26 am

Those both sound so delicious!! I think I might have to add them to the different barks I make this year:)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.