This past week I have been getting some rest, relaxation and tons of sun down at the beach. One thing I always look forward to while I am at the beach is the easy access we have to enjoy some amazing seafood. You might call me a seafood snob, but with my aunt and uncle living at the river I was raised enjoying freshly caught (as in it was swimming without a care in the world less than 24 hours ago) seafood so anything less than that is just not acceptable. 

One of my favorite recipes that I always have a few times while I am at the beach are fish tacos. I love the different salsas, slaws and dressings that restaurants pair with their fish and have fallen in love with all of them. Since I will be heading home tomorrow I decided to hunt down my own delicious fish taco recipe so that I can enjoy them year round. Here is one that I cannot wait to try that I found from Midwest Living

Ingredients
  • 1 fresh mango, seeded, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 cup barbecue sauce
  • 1/4 cup light mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon lime zest
  • 3 cups coleslaw mix (shredded cabbage with carrot)
  • 4 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 12 ounces fresh white fish (tilapia, cod or mahi are popular choices)
  • 8 6-inch tortillas
  • 1/2 cup sliced guacamole
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions
  1. Place half the diced mango in a blender or food processor. Add barbecue sauce; puree until smooth.
  2. In a large bowl combine 2/3 cup of the barbecue sauce mixture, the light mayonnaise and lime zest. (Reserve the remaining 1/3 cup of the barbecue sauce mixture.) Add remaining diced mango, your shredded coleslaw mix and green onions. Toss to coat. Cover and chill until ready to serve.
  3. Grill fish on the greased rack of a covered charcoal or gas grill directly over medium heat for 4 to 6 minutes per 1/2-inch thickness or until fish flakes when tested with a fork, brushing generously with the reserved 1/3 cup barbecue sauce mixture during the last 2 minutes of grilling. Wrap tortillas in foil and place on grill rack over heat while fish is grilling to warm, turning once halfway through warming.
  4. To serve, fill warm tortillas with coarsely flaked fish, coleslaw, guacamole and cilantro. If you like, squeeze with lime juice.

This recipe is pretty close to my favorite BBQ Fish Tacos, which were featured on Food Network's DDD, that you can find at a place called Flip Flops down in Virginia Beach. I can't wait to try this recipe out once I get home! What is your favorite thing you like to eat when you go to the beach?

xoxo
Megan

You might also like...

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.